An introduction and why MS has been good for me

I’ve been browsing the forum for a few months and only recently given in to the temptation to sign up and post, but a couple of my posts have prompted some of you to ask a bit more. I’m too lazy to type individual replies, so I’d like to introduce myself…

I’m a 39yr old Glaswegian called Garry (who would’ve guessed!?), living in happy exile with the Wee Wifey somewhere in the Durham Dales. I work in IS for a major NE company where I’m employed to right wrongs, herd cats and fix things that can’t be fixed. I also look after a lot of people as a union steward and tend to be the one they call on when problems arise because I can, in most cases, fix them and make life a little bit better.

If anyone from my company is reading this then they’ll know who I am. Hi :o)

I was diagnosed with RR MS in 2001 following an optic neuritis, so I’m not someone who’s new to the illness. When I was diagnosed I was running, climbing and swimming everyday. Six years ago I was down to running 6 miles a day. Right now I’m bu****ed after climbing the stairs, have 999 on speed dial and know the paramedics by name. I got a christmas card from them on their last visit and was invited to the A&E Xmas party.

However, despite all this I have something important to say…

I love my MS. Being diagnosed with MS was the best thing that ever happened to me.

A number of you will disagree with this (I can already hear tea being spluttered over keyboards and angry letters being written to the Editor), and some of you might report this post, but tough, I’m going to say it because in a world where some people seem to play Top Trumps with their symptoms I’m an MS lover and proud. Here’s why.