What does research mean in laymans terms?

Hi - I am dx with RRMS and am hopefully starting treatment in the next few months, any advice would be appreciated.

I am trying to choose which DMD would be most appropriate for me. I have used the MS decisions website and read through ms society/trust publications. Read lots of anecdotal experiences on this forum and tried reading scientifically controlled research studies online (which i must say seem to be thin on the ground) - im now more confused than i was before!

I have narrowed it down to Rebif or Capoxone.

Rebif because it seems to have have the best results for delaying disability and is very effective at reducing severity of relapses (but agin could be reading the information wrong as i’m not a scientist)

Capoxone because it seems to be the most well tolerated DMD and has few side effects. The downsides (i think) is it has no proven delaying outcome on disability progression.

Does any one have any insight into which dmd is most effective at delaying disability - think this seems to be the biggest factor for me, after reducing relapse frequencey but accouding to the studies i have read, they all seem to be as effective as each other? Excluding tysabari/gilyiana which i’m not allowed anyway!

Any thought welcomed.

Kind Regards

Hi,

The reason you are given a choice in the first place is they are all about as effective as each other. If there was a clear winner, the medics would be failing in their duty to you, not to advise which one. But the view at the moment is it doesn’t make enough difference to prefer one over another - that’s why it’s left to the patient to choose which one best suits their lifestyle.

I’m not on any of them, by the way - just to be clear. But I do stil read the research, and the pros and cons (I like to know what’s out there).