'The face'

Hi :slight_smile: I’m new to all this (diagnosed about 3 weeks ago) having previously had no idea at all that I could have MS, despite having had symptoms for a good few years. I was in hospital for a couple of weeks pre diagnosis due to a relapse, so have faced lots of questions from those close to me about whether I’m okay, what was up, etc

It’s only this week that I’ve built up the courage to start talking about the diagnosis - before this I totally buried my head in the sand about it all. The few people I’ve told - friends, family and colleagues have been so very understanding and full of support - they’ve been amazing. However the worst bit by far about telling people is ‘the face’ - you know that face that’s a mixture of worry, pity, confusion etc that’s always their first reaction. I know no one can help it but it really makes things hit me right in the feels - I genuinely feel that telling those I love has been worse than finding out I had MS to begin with.

Leaves me wondering how many people I’ve unwittingly done ‘the face’ to, and now I feed bad having been on the receiving end of it.

Xx

It’s a normal human reaction Amy, especially when people don’t know what to say to give any comfort. You admit you have done it yourself, we all do. Unfortunately, you will have a few more ‘the face’ but what I usually do now is smile & put them at ease, I reassure them, I understand what I’ve got & how it works, no need to make them suffer as well. Don’t feel bad xx

Absolutely agree - it’s so natural and there’s really no alternative ‘response’. I guess it’s just part of it all. If it wasn’t for necessity I’d not have told anyone - I hate the thought of anyone being upset about me! Also have chickened out and told some friends via text which is awfully impersonal but is easier as people can weigh up their response before sending. Thanks for your kind words xx