Steroids and SPMS

Hi has anyone tried steroids that has SPMS? Thanks Deborah

Deborah,

I was under the impression steroids were only given for a relapse.

With SPMS, the condition is constantly progressing - in theory you’ve already experienced and gone passed the relapsing stage, so I’ve never heard of steroids being prescribed for SPMS ? (…and I believe they’re only just starting to test if various medications might help the progressive stage of MS, whether that’s ‘secondary’ or ‘primary’ !!)

Of course, I’m no medical expert and I’m sure others will be along soon to share their experiences and knowledge.

Dom

you can still be offerd steroids in spms if you still have relaspes with the spms,

a lot of people think that you cant have relaspes with spms,but you can.

my relapses have got more severe since i was diagnosed spms.

mrsJ, that makes perfect sense to me, developing SPMS does not mean you don’t have RRMS at the core! That’s why it secondary - it’s an add on (I’m sure someone will correct me if I’m wrong!)

I’m likely PPMS but some things did improve a little with my first dose of steroids and from what the consultant said to me, there were steroid infusions that I could sign up for on a trial basis (I don’t have much more info on that as I was a bit upset at the time!)

Sonia x