So this is limboland....*looks around* it sucks....

Hi all, new here - I kinda hope it’ll be a fleeting visit as RRMS will get ruled out soon… Maybe. Just wanted to tell my story to see if it resonates with anyone or if anyone has any wisdom about what else could be going on. This all started in 2015, when I hit 41, I have a stressful job (I’m a senior midwife) but I usually handle the stress pretty well so I don’t think it’s related! Anyway… I was away on holiday and started to get odd sensations in my left arm, pins and needles and buzzing sensations, also this deep itch that couldn’t be satisfied by scratching. I returned from holiday and thought not a lot of it. Then one day near that initial event, I was at work, put the phone down and got this shock down my spine into my legs and feet. This persisted, every time I put my chin to my chest, I just likened it to an electric shock with buzzing - not pain. As a health professional I totally know the perils of Dr Google but as this was such a specific symptom I figured it was worth a Google. I discovered the symptom was perfectly described as L’hermitte’s sign or phenomenon. I went to see GP because it was really irritating and would sometimes make me jump such was the ferocity of the shock, meanwhile the parathesia in my left arm continued. I was referred to a neurologist and was prepared for a long wait. I was lucky, I saw one within about 3 months of referral. He did some motor tests and so on but didn’t refer me for Mri, the symptoms had long since stopped. They only lasted maybe 4 or 5 weeks then just disappeared. By the time I saw the neurologist I felt fine, I almost cancelled but because the symptom was so strange I figured it was best to keep the appt. He told me to go back to my gp if it reoccurred. Nothing happened until last September 2017 so about 2 years from first episode. I woke up one morning with a numb butt cheek on my left side, extended up to about the butt dimple, slowly the numb sensation spr