Forum

scared for her

Hello everyone, I hope all are well. I’m new to this so please bare w me…my fiance and absolute love of my life was diagnosed a cpl of weeks ago w MS quite honestly she’s taking it better than I am…A very strong woman I must say.her doctor told her it’s not a big deal ,…to take her time deciding on which medication she wanted to go on…she was told by the dr. That he recommended copaxone and so far she’s decided to try. But…we were floored when we were told what the cost would be …monthly…her share is 2500.00 though we both work we can’t possibly afford this I tried to get her to do a JP. wedding to get her on my medical ASAP but she says the dr. Said not to worry …well I am worried and if anyone could possibly shed alittle light on whether or not she should worry would be appreciated…August is the wedding and should she wait…please help me to understand…sorry for the ramblings

Hi geofftiff,

I am puzzled that you have been informed by your doctor, that you will have to pay for your drugs, £2500. Are you not registered with the NHS, because then your drugs should be free, if approved by your local health trust/authority. The only cost , if you are in England would maybe a prescription charge.

I myself have been using Betaferon for 8 years, delivered to my door by Bupa, under the Neuro Dept of my NHS Trust with no cost to me at all.

I hope you are able to sort this out, sometimes doctors mention how much it will cost so that you are aware of what the NHS is doing for you.

Yours. Andy

Hi,

Like Andy above, I am puzzled by this, and can only assume - because you have been informed of charges and “contributions”, that you and your fiancee cannot be in the UK?

On the UK NHS there is no charge for disease modifying drugs (DMDs). Not even (as far as I know) a prescription charge.