PPMS AND DEMYELINATION

Hey guys,

Im still fairly new to this condition so once again sorry for all my questions!! Im glad to have you guys :slight_smile:

I was wondering does the demyelination carry on FOREVER? Or does it EVER stop? Because i know its hard to get the damage areas back but does demyelination just carry on?

So I have PPMS with no spinal or neck lesions but i have numerous lesions in my brain which have been increasing, however they are always inactive which i do not seem to understand. I have severe foot drop, walking issues and weakness in my left arm and I was told all of this is because of the demyelination from my brain.

Im taking Ocrelizumab and im worried that this demyelination will not stop and my symptoms will get worse and worse and nothing seems to be helping, its rapidly getting worse… I don’t know what can help my foot drop or balance and spasicity problems :frowning:

Hi there Ezzy, how did you get on Ocrelizumab when I’m told it hasn’t been certified yet & does it involve having chemo? From what I’m told, the demylination is with those who suffer MS forever. It seems to be where the human bodies own immune system attacks itself. Hence why I always advize on boosting the immune system to evict the problem. Once the demylination takes hold, through the bodies entire nervous system. The treatments become extreme to none existant. So keep exercising & live as best you can. My view is forget medication & focus on diet & exercise ASAP. Until there is a confirmed cure. Take it easy & sleep as much as you can. The human body is amazing. It gets confused at times. Especially with input from idiots who should know better. Best regards Terry.

1 Like

Hi Ezziiy

Have a word with your OT and ask about a Fez for foot drop to see if that would help. If you haven’t got an OT your GP can refer you or you can ring adult social services to make an appointment with one.