Pain Clinic & C

My husband has an appointment with the pain clinic next week. A month or so ago I heard a pain management consultant talk on the raidio about current thinking and she said they use Cognitive Behaviour Threrapy. I had expected they would be reviewing medications (which seems to be in a right muddle at the moment with one thing and another), but I wonder now whether we can expect CBT?

The consultant was saying about drug therapy and the side effects, which is true. If he could ditch some or all of the pain meds then that would be a result.

Has anyone experienced CBT in the management of pain?

hi bonnie

no-not directly but i have been practising meditation for 2 years and have found it beneficial. cbt and meditation ARE NOT a quick fix but the effort is very worthwhile. i have managed to imagine that my body doesnt exist-just for 20 mins- it doesnt exist then i cant feel pain. 20 mins of pain free bliss! i aim to extend the length of time. i am aware this sounds crazy-but dont knock it til u try it,as they say

someone the other day asked me to draw a picture of an orgasm! erm… you ‘know/think’ it exists but… the same with pain… change the thinking and u will change the experience of the pain.

ellie x

As you say, have to try these things. Think I’m probably more open to the idea than husband, but time will tell. To be honest I think he is at the stage when he will be willing to give anything a go.

Hi Bonnie,

I think they use a variety of methods, not exclusively medication OR psychological. So probably best to go with an open mind, and see what they come up with. I think it’s unlikely they will just ditch all the meds and suggest CBT as a substitute - I don’t think many patients could cope with that.