Newly Diagnosed

Hello,

I’m Kate & I live on the south coast. After many tests, I was finally diagnosed with RRMS yesterday. I got to see my brain scan & all the white damage on the corona radiata. Thinking back I have had the symptoms for many years but always put them down to something else. It was only after coming back from my honeymoon last year & my left arm went completely numb & didn’t get better. My gp didn’t think it was anything other than a trapped nerve in my neck caused by carrying heavy suitcases. My partner is disabled herself & is wheelchair bound so I got all the heavy lifting. When my arm didn’t improve my gp sent me to see the neurologist & after many tests I am now here. I am in shock, how can I be disabled when I am my partner’s primary carer? What will happen next? I’m an artist & now my left eye has lost colour & saturation so I’m frustrated as well as shocked. Being sent to Southampton General to see the drug therapist, hopefully I will get the meds I need to at least control my MS, I don’t want to lose more sight or get any more numbness.

Thanks for letting me tell you about me, I’m sure I shall get more knowledgeable once I’ve let the diagnosis sink in & accept that my life will change somewhat. Am help or advise would be gratefully received

Kate.x

Hello Kate

It sounds like you are partly in shock because of your diagnosis, partly panicked by the symptoms which are affecting your sight and at least partly in a state of worry about caring for your partner.

What a lot you have to deal with.

I would suggest that you use the analogy of a plane crash (someone else used this earlier in the week so I’m pinching it!) You should make sure your own mask is fitted before trying to help someone else.

In your situation, you perhaps need to get your head around the MS diagnosis, do all you can to sort yourself out and start on a disease modifying drug (DMD) before starting to panic about caring for your partner.