Forum

Newly diagnosed...help

Hi, I am new to the forum. I was diagnosed with MS 2 days ago, it was sort of unexpected as I am a nurse and everyone I look after with MS is so disabled I couldnt identify with it. I have a husband (student) and 5 sons (12, 10, 8, 3 and 1) and I am supposed to be starting midwifery training in 10 days. I’ve left my job to start at uni and now I really dont know what to do. My only symptoms are right eye pain and occasional slight blurred vision, tingling in one hand and a numb left foot so I imagine I will cope with the course at the moment but I don’t know if they will still have me if I tell them. Treatmentwise i’m starting on copaxone (I think) in 4 weeks, neurologist wanted me to start straight away but i’m breastfeeding and want to wean him first. I have 1 large lesion and smaller ones and she said ‘not much’ is being transmitted through my optic nerve although my vision doesn’t bother me. Sorry for rambling but I feel a bit lost…no job…no insurance…huge mortgage…5 kids…

Hi mama5. Sorry about your diagnosis. It must have been a shock. As I’m sure most people here will tell you, ms affects everyone differently and you might find that you have no problems completing your training. As you feel that you would be able to cope with the demands of the course as you are now, I would say go for it. You could end up kicking yourself if you decide to halt your plans and then realise in a few years that you would have been able to do it! I’m not sure if there are specific rules for midwifery but unis generally wouldn’t be able to deny you a place because you have ms. I would check with yours when you feel able to have the conversation. I hope you are able to get some answers. It sounds like you have an awful lot to think about x