Newly diagnosed but still have to have a day of tests

Hi folks

I was diagnosed on Wednesday but I still have to go back for a day of tests including a lumbar puncture, MRIs and evoke potentials tests. I’m really confused as to why it’s all necessary, particularly the lumbar puncture if the neurologist has already diagnosed me.

I’m also really struggling with anxiety. I have mental health problems already, including OCD, and the uncertainty of all this is making it very hard to control my anxiety. The neurologist wants to speak to my psychiatrist before we make a decision about which DMD to go on as he doesn’t want it to mess up my mental health. I’m not very good with uncertainty as it makes my rituals a lot worse but that’s basically what I’m going to have to deal with for the rest of my life now.

I took the news at the Neuro appointment well at the time as I was expecting it but as time goes on I’m getting more upset about it. Feeling a bit sorry for myself tonight I’m afraid.

Jude

hi jude

these extra tests will be necessary or you wouldn’t be offered them.

probably the offering of a DMD and especially which DMD will depend on them.

it is very encouraging that your neuro team want to liaise with your mental health team.

it sound to me that you are being very well cared for.

try to let go of your anxiety.

tell yourself that you have not one, but two, teams of highly qualified doctors trying very hard to help you.

it stinks that you have ms now as well as mental health problems.

however the support you are getting should provide a deodorising effect on the stink!

tell yourself that you are lucky!

honestly i totally get the anxiety you feel but imagine how much worse it would feel if you were just left to deal with it all alone.

please keep us updated.

carole x