New to all this...

Hi all,

I’m new to all this, and am just looking for a bit of advice/guidance. It’s probably best that I tell my story from the very beginning…

Back in October 2009 I was working in an office, and suddenly I started to see this strange ‘flickers’ of light in the top right hand corner of my vision. I was so concerned that I went to see my (at the time) GP. He didn’t think it was anything to worry about, and prescribed me some strong paracetamol, putting the episodes down to a migraine. Anyway, fast forward two weeks, and shortly after arriving at work one Thursday morning, I collapsed and had a full-blown tonic-clonic seizure. After the seizure, the flickering lights in my vision disappeared. I then had three more during the following fortnight. They then managed to control them with a daily dose of Epilim.

Unfortunately however, this proved to be short lived, as in February 2010 my right hand began twitching/jerking, which lead to a fifth seizure. My Neurologist then put me on Keppra, which stopped the hand jerking and the seizures - these have remained fully under control to this day. I began to lead a normal life again and even got my driving licence back.

During the initial tests, my EEG test was perfectly normal, and my MRI scan results read ‘Your test has come back normal. We did spot one minor abnormality, but certainly don’t feel this is related to your seizures’. I was never told, nor did I enquire, as to what that abnormality was.