Forum

Nervous about synptoms

Hi All, this is my first time posting here. I’m hoping for a bit of reassurance.

I was diagnosed around 4 years ago with Restless Leg Syndrome, and it was around this time that I lost my sense of smell also. My diagnosis was pretty much a conversation with my GP at the time, and medication passed my way.

The mess have never really helped, and I’ve had to keep increasing the dosage.

My new GP decided to look further into my lack of smell and sent me to see a ENT consultant. In the meantime, while awaiting the appointment my GP decided that my symptoms warranted a visit to a neurologist as she suspected MS. My first consultants appointment has now been and gone. An MRI showed no major issues, however it showed a small ofloactory bulb which suggests nerve damage (possibly by MS?). I have been discharged by ENT with a result of “either a really back virus was had that killed all nerves in your nose…or it’s neurological…possibly MS”.

I now have my neurology appointment in two weeks.

My symptoms are spasms in my right foot and left hand. Extreme fatigue. Every muscle or joint hurts. I cannot walk 20 meters without severe pains in my legs and then burning intensely. I have shooting pains around my body for “no reason”. I have uriniary urgency. I also suffer with the restless leg style symptoms where I can’t keep them still because they hurt so much and feel like electric shocks are going through my body. I feel like my insides vibrate. I get dizzy and I fall occasionally…and can literally be over nothing! I can be forgetful and words that would always have come to me easily seem to escape me…probably one of my biggest frustrations. I do not have periods where this gets easier…these have been gradually building all the time, with new symptoms adding but not disappearing.

I dont have any issues with my eyes and do not suffer with drop foot.