Need a shoulder to cry on

Been in a lot of pain today. My back and are the worst. My neck (trapezius muscles) feel like they are carrying a very heavy weight, and my back is spasming. You know when you wring water out from a towel? It feels like someone is doing that to my back muscles, all the way down on either side of my spine.

I took codeine at 1pm today and it didn’t seem to do anything. At half 2 I wanted to curl up and cry so I phoned the doctor for an emergency appointment.

Went to the doctor and waited an hour to be seen. When I got in and explained what’s been happening today the doctor butted in and said ‘this is an emergency appointment… you have a chronic condition … not appropriate to make an emergency appointment’. I immediately started to cry (which must have looked pathetic). I stated firmly that to me this was most definitely an emergency as I couldn’t continue with my day and had to go home early (I’m a vet student on an anaesthesia rotation at a referral hospital). I explained that the pain was so severe that I couldn’t continue.

She would rather I kept my appointment with my doctor for next week (to update him on how I’m finding the baclofen). I couldn’t believe it. What the hell is an emergency appointment for!? I’ve contacted the practice to find out how to complain to the practice manager.

I’m so sick of this. It’s two steps forward, one step back, or sometimes vice versa.

When is severe pain not an emergency?

She sent me away with diazepam and told me to increase the baclofen.

I’m so tired of being in pain. I phoned my mum when I left and cried and cried. I’m still crying now. I want answers. I want support. Why is it so hard to find?