Forum

Miss

Hello

my name is jo, new to this… feeling a little upside down with first big relapse… thought I’d try this out as no idea what to do with myself

Hi Jo,

I am new to this too. Last week I had my first one too - 5000 miles from home in a hotel. It is very hard to be strong no matter when or where it happens and as I sat on the bathroom floor I felt like a little kid. After i slid to a phone and asked for help - 2 handymen lifted me up - I realised that was probably the hardest part. Asking.

So far in my first month I have found that one of my friends’ wives has MS - she is so quick with advice - that asking to board the plane to come home as one of the pre-boarding group because I was walking really badly that day was oddly liberating and that this is an exclusive club I didn’t ask to join.

It feels like we can make things work and that there are lots of people around us who we can help while we are strong as well as who are just so willing to help us if we aren’t.

I spoke to my HR person directly after I sent the notification to the DVLA - neither one of which I looked forward to. The HR director has made it clear that anything the company can do will be done and that I don’t have to worry, while my neurologist has already given the DVLA his opinion that as I didn’t have any problem driving my manual car to any of our meetings and have recently done an IAM course I ought to be fine for a while yet! My travel insurance for the year cost and extra £10 to include MS too - so no problems about a holiday and my car insurers didn’t care as long my neurologist is happy…

Keep asking questions, don’t believe Doctor Google’s unattributed “experts”, find out just how many of your friends have experience of MS and don’t be surprised that all of them want to help. That’s the embarrassing bit - they really do want to help us and it can be overwhelming when you think you haven’t needed it before.

2 Likes

Hi Jo,