Meds

Hi everyone

i had my 2nd appointment with my consultant and he’s mentioned about going onto medication done by infusion once a month (sorry can’t remember the name ) is anyone on this ? I am also having to have another MRI scan and blood test to see if I can go on the infusion medication . I feel so upset and just to top it off got told all this on Xmas eve xx

I am not a doctor and i do not know your particular set of circumstances, but i am guessing the recommended drug is called Tysabri.

That form of treatment seems a tad excessive as it is usually reserved for when all other options fail. I’d be surprised if this was suggested as a ‘first line’ disease modifying drug therapy.

There are other options out there which are far more convenient, far less intrusive and not as ‘hardcore’. I would question why these cannot be considered first.

As for the need for an MRI, i would question that too (especially if getting one entails a long waiting period which would delay the start of any drugs).

The blood test however is necessary and will continue to be needed every 2 or 3 months to ensure whatever drug you start taking is not having an adverse effect (so this is no bad thing!)

GOOD LUCK!

1 Like

the two done by infusion that i know of are tysabri and lemtrada (also known as alemtuzumab and campath).

don’t worry yourself. they are supposed to be the best.

just look at it as giving ms a good kicking!!

carole x

Paulo - the mri will be to establish a baseline.

i was told i’d be having one before starting tecfidera but my first batch is being delivered next monday and no news of the mri yet.

carole x

Hi I have a feeling its the 2nd one u put

kitty

do some research on tysabri.

there is a good reason for needing blood tests.

tecfidera is by the same pharmaceutical company and i’ll need blood tests done too.

it’s just to keep us safe because a small minority of people have a bad reaction to it.