Medical Retirement advice please...

Hello all

I was diagnosed with RR MS 20 years ago, and my main continuing symptom has been fatigue, though others have come and sometimes even gone over the years. I’ve been taking Amantadine for about 5 years following a period of such bad fatigue that I had to take 3 months off work. Since then, the fatigue has continued to get steadily worse, and although my employer has been very helpful and I’ve cut my hours, I think that the time has come to stop. I’m a member of the Teachers Pension Scheme (I’m a lecturer) and they have an ill health retirement scheme. Back of an envelope calculations suggest that we’d have just enough to live on if TPS accepts a claim. I am not currently off sick, but I’m not sure how much longer I can carry on.

I would be really grateful for any advice anyone has.

Thanks

Usually applications for ill health retirement follow a period off sick. Your terms and conditions will probably allow for 6 months on full pay and 6 months on half. After this (you don’t have to be of sick for the full year but it would be nuts not to take the 6 months at full pay) you can apply for ill health retirement,

I took retirement from teaching many years ago but I don’t think that aspect of the process has changed.

You can apply for ESA once you have left work but it will be reduced by your pension… The first £85.00 p/w is ignored. After that each £1.00 reduces your ESA amount by 50p.

I don’t know if you get DLA already. If not you can apply for PIP.

Beware cutting your hours too much as a temporary solution because it may affect your pension.

Jane