Leaving work to care - advice and experiences

Hello

If anybody could offer some advice we would be most grateful.

I am a full-time teacher and my partner has ms. She is usually mobile with the aid of a frame. Over the last few years she has had a fall resulting in fractured vertebrae, diagnosis of osteoporosis and a heart attack. Despite this with the help of a carer coming in 3 mornings a week we have coped.

Over recent weeks she has become more unstable resulting in a fall. I feel we are close to the point where someone needs to be with her all the time. Emotionally that is how I feel.

There is no family that could support so it would seem I will have to leave my job to support her.

Many out there must have been in this situation and if you could offer any advice or share your experience that would be fantastic.

We live in a rented flat with some savings but certainly not enough to live on.

I see our trajectory as follows…

1. I leave work to care
  2. Too young to get a pension but could claim carers allowance
  3. Savings quickly burnt up on rent and living
  4. Claim housing benefit (I believe our landlord would not want us in here if we were on housing benefit)
  5. Apply for council accommodation

Obviously this is a really basic scenario but I was just calling out to see if I have missed anything. We just feel worried and confused.

Thanks for reading.

EagleFan1969

Obviously your priority is your wife and her care but you could consider the following, again basically put…

1. Have you asked if there is the option to work flexibly?

Teachers pension are not too bad if you have been in teaching along time……

1. Stay at work and use salary for additional care, may not leave much in the pot but in the long term may be financially worth while.

2. Has your wife applied for benefits such as PIP, ESA?