Forum

LDN

I have been using Low Dose Naltrexone for a few years now as I decided to stop using Betaferon. I was walking unaided before I started on Betaferon and put up with the flu-like symptoms for some months while my mobility worsened rapidly. I tried Copaxone but experienced the same difficulties. Demoralised by this and having to give up work as a Staff Nurse, becoming a Nurse Advisor instead, to accommodate my mobility problems, I then started taking Low Dose Naltrexone. This acted to boost my immune system rather than suppressing it and I began to feel well again. My mobility is the same but shows signs of improvement now as I exercise regularly using a mini exercise bike. I’d like to know if there is anyone out there who has had a similar experience of using betaferon or Copaxone. Cheers for replying if this is the case and at least I will know that I’m not the only one who’s felt like this.

Hi Tina,

Any of the Interferon’s does not suppress the immune structure but are immune modulators; they change or modulate the IS.

No you’re not the only person to get bad reactions to Betaferon but MS is the end result with many different ways to get there. MS is not necessarily an auto-immune complaint (my reasoning on the Etiology of MS).

Some peoples MS is caused a faulty Gene; some are caused by reactions to a virus; some are auto-immune; I’m sure mine was caused by the reaction I had to a smallpox vaccination; how we get there is different.

So therefore the answers are different; any interferon will only reduce attacks to those it effects; does not affect everyone. Do you get attacks as this is the only symptom affected; on saying only for many this is brilliant as less attacks; less disability.

LDN is magnificent for many people.

George

Hi Tina,

There was a speech at the 09 LDN conference about the differences and similarities between beta-interferon and LDN. It had been thought that it boosted the immune system in RRMS, but this has changed.