Just getting started with my doctors

I’m very new to this process and starting to suspect I might have MS. I have an aunt with MS and I have several risk factors, such as having mono when younger. My first possible symptom occurred 7 years ago when, out of the total blue, I woke up one day with double vision and flashes of numbness in my face. I went to the ER and they did an MRI which looked fine. My vision was so bad I could not see to drive, and my mom stayed with me from out of state until it randomly went away on its own about 2 weeks later. No diagnosis of anything was ever made, it was a mystery. Then maybe a year or two after that, I started getting numbness in my hands and forearms…which I initially thought was swelling from eating too much salt or something. The periods of numbness starting happening with more frequency and this year, it has been nonstop since February…numbness in my hands and arms up to my elbows, and in both my feet. I occasionally get the flashes of numbness on the right side of my face… which will come on for a day or two every couple of months. Lately I have been having an uncomfortable pins and needles feeling in my arms and legs which is worst at night and keeps me from falling asleep. What are your thoughts about these symptoms? I was seen in the ER recently, the Dr did some labs to look up my “electrolyte levels” and said they were fine so I don’t have MS. ??? I have seen an orthopedist for a possible pinched nerve but they did X rays and did not find anything. He prescribed a week of steroids and my symptoms almost completely went away, but came back worse than ever when the med stopped. I am likely getting a nerve conduction test next and I’m hoping a referral to a neurologist. My husband thinks I’m being a hypochondriac.