How to apply makeup

Hello,

As a man who cares for his female partner, I would like to learn how to apply her makeup. My partner finds this difficult to do for herself - accurate lines etc. - and, despite having lived through the New Romantics era, I have never done this before and my attempts to date are “interesting”.

Any ideas where I should start or where I could go.

Hello, as somebody who has lived through the New Romantic era too, AND done drag and a drama degree, I’ve had to do make-up myself and know how unwieldy man-hands aren’t built for doing steady liquid eyeliner- but you can learn. There’s a lot of trial and error, you may need some make-up remover pads handy- but you will get there…

There are loads of make-up tutorials on YouTube, but I’d personally recommend Sali Hughes- her YouTube channel was so popular, she got a column in The Guardian. It’s well worth a look…

http://www.youtube.com/user/salihughesbeauty?feature=watch

(PS, I think it’s brilliant you’re taking this on)

Stewart (admin)

Stewart - you never fail to surprise me…new romantic, drag and drama…how did you get here?

Liz

I can’t help but want to say this is ace. I can’t even get my OH to help with my eyebrows…or even to tell me when I start to look like a monobrow. Stewart has given you a good link. Well done to you for being so caring.

Liz

Liz, i ask myself the same…as you can see, it’s been a long, colourful and very textured road.

applies lip gloss, expertly

2 Likes

Many thanks everyone. I will start by looking at the videos. (There are a lot of them - I had no idea it was so complicated. Do Haynes do a manual?)

1 Like

There are lots of books, but a lot of “ordinary” women won’t do the complete regime as practised by beauty professionals - not unless it’s for a really special occasion, anyway.