Driving

Hi everyone, I really need some help, when driving a motorway or fast main road I’m having some really strange feelings of the car being out of control as if its aqua plaining or zig zaging in the lane, in actual fact the car is not doing any of these things but to me it feels like it is and I feel totally out of control, my passengers tell me I’m a good driver and not to think about it, today I was on the M5 and had to stop and let my passenger take over as I was shaking with fear, I’ve had the all clear to drive from medics but this feeling is really scary, has anyone else had this happen to them Jane

I can no longer drive on motorways. I find it so stressful,the lanes and traffic moving either side of me freak me out and play havoc with my eyes.I couldn’t drive for 3years with double vision,back driving now but won’t go near motorways

Hi Rose thanks for answering, I thought I was going mad when this started, its really hard to explain how I feel but its one of the scariest feelings I’ve ever had, people around me keep saying its just nerves on to take control and ignore what I’m feeling but I can’t

Jane I can no longer drive on motorways and struggle on dual carriageways too, I think it’s more of a confidence thing than anything! I used to drive 100s of miles when I was working and never had a problem. I think you may be worrying for nothing, let others do the motoways and you stick to the local roads that you know that’s what I do. I’m sure there will be others in the same situation. Sue x

Thanks Sue I used to drive 700 miles a week, tow caravans and trailers, never had a problem, I’m not sure if its confidence all I know is its horrid and makes me panic I actually feel like my heart will pop out my chest where its beating so hard, yet I’m not worried about being on the motorway until I suddenly feel the car doing things that its not doing Jane x

Jane How is for you when someone else does the driving?? Sue x