Forum

Do you ever just not think about it?

Symptoms can be so hard to ignore and a constant reminder of the potential for looming relapses and more disability.

Do you ever get to a place where you just dont think about it? Or just accept it?

Im trying very hard to be in the moment and appreciate what i can do right now. But my brain just wont switch off. Im sick of thinking about it. Its not necessarily all negative! My inner dialog about it just wont shut up.

Any tips or sayings that got you through?
How do you begin to be ok with it all?

Try Yoga.

It all seems hippy shit to start with, until you buy into the whole “coming into your breath” malarkey. It works! :grinning: You get into a position (mine are all safely anchored to the floor these days, no trees or standing on head…) and relax into it with each breath. Do it right and you’re so focussed on your breathing that your body just lets go of the tension.

1 Like

I was a cynical technician so was dismissive of anything non technical. However when things became very difficult and drugs or regular therapies did not work, I was persuaded to try some alternative stuff. To my surprise some of it really helped.
To establish control of my internal dialogue I did a brief Mindfulness course which really helped and I then tried acupuncture for some of the physical stuff which also helped a bit. I am not evangelistic about this and it will doubtless be different for everyone but may well be worth a go. Good luck
Mick

3 Likes

I got a kitten…

Whats MS? :rofl: :joy:

Leo has never heard of it. Yesterday i had a bad day eyes poor brain rubbish over tired. By the afternoon he had sucked me into playing laser beam, so myself, doglet and kitten were sat on the rollator for nearly an hour with leo jumping up doors and walls lol…and lucy my old JR trying to keep u with him…Before i started as i felt so ill my BP was really high by the time we had finished it was really good lol. And in between no thoughts of MS.