Forum

Awaiting diagnosis & petrified

Hello everyone, newbie here,

I’ll try & keep it brief!..I’m 46 fit & well, no medical history to speak of apart from history of migraines…fast forward to 3 months ago when I was woken up in the middle of the night by what I can only describe as severe pain in one eye as if someone was trying to remove it with a rusty spoon!..my eye was also swollen but still open, vision 90% ok, I work in a healthcare setting so mentioned it casually over a coffee to an ophthalmologist & that’s when it all began to turn into the NHS roundabout…blood tests revealed high levels of TPO antibodies but T3 & T4 normal so was treated with steriods for thyroid eye disease (even though no previous thyroid probs) eye soon recovered & feeling fine…follow up & MRI with contrast ordered to check any residual swelling around optic nerve…all good in the eye dept!..but MRI showed “diffuse high density signal areas frontal lobes, white matter not breached, highly suspicious of demyelination”… referral to neuro, appt around here around 16 wk wait so still waiting, appt for endocrinologist next month to check if thyroid issue a red herring or not.

With having no symptoms I’m struggling with the ?MS diagnosis & frankly I’m petrified…

Sorry for this epic ramble & thank you for reading!

Hello welcome to forum.

My neurologist seems to think that my thyroid could be part of the problem as I have an underactive thyroid which is delt with tablets, or that it could be my tablets or migraines, that have caused the lesion that I have, I haven’t had a migraine for three years.

A lot of the people here can say how they found out what they have, whether it is MS or not, please don’t go on dr Google they just tell scary stories. With you being in the healthcare setting you would know a lot more about it.

They’re a caring bunch here and might be able to give some advice to help you.